Casual Friday

This week has been pretty exhausting, so as much as I know you all love my opinionated rants, there will be no Fabulously Fat Friday today. (Of course, in its own way, every Friday is fabulously fat.) Instead, I’m bringing you yet another outfit post with my favorite color combinations, but this time, surprisingly, I’m wearing new shoes!

P1150788

In a way, this outfit would have been perfect for the next Marvelous Monday….hint, hint! You’ll see what I mean in a few days.

P1150783

You know that pastels are my favorite, that mint and lilac have a special place in my heart, so you can imagine how much I like this super relaxed outfit. What’s more casual than leggings and a slouchy sweater??

P1150791

It’s also not the most “flattering” of outfits. I usually dress with some emphasis on my waist, so in that sense it’s a departure for me. It doesn’t show off any hourglass figure, but that’s okay! It’s cute and comfortable and I’m happy wearing it.

P1150795

And these shoes! Can you see why I love them? Only 5 euros, too! I mean, they’ll fall apart sooner rather than later, but, they have butterflies on them! So worth it!

Outfit details:

Mint slouchy sweater with pockets: H&M+ (Germany)
Mint tank (underneath): Target (USA)
Pearl pendant necklace: Dorothy Perkins (UK)
Lilac leggings: Next (UK)
Mint polka dot socks: H&M (Germany)
Butterfly print shoes: Divided by H&M (Germany)

15 thoughts on “Casual Friday

  1. I had to join in the conversation here to tell you what an inspiration you are to me.
    I grew up with the standard talk that I was fat, overweight, undesirable, not going to amount to anything much, and ‘just like (insert name of undesirable family member here)’.
    My Nana apparently put me on a diet when I was 4 (as I found out in my adulthood when I was trying desperately to get on the ‘thin’ bandwagon), and even though I have pretty much no memory before the age of about 8, all I was ever told was that I needed to go to weight watchers, I was a lump, and I was compared to so many other girls. Thin ones of course. My sister, being naturally more slender and hourglass shaped, was always the pretty one. I was by default the dubiously titled ‘smart’ one. And one which ‘surprised’ people when I actually, you know, started to achieve stuff and live a relatively happy and successful life.
    I could go on. And on. And seriously on some more. Being the adult child of an alcoholic and drug addict with all sorts of other dysfunctional stuff to boot just adds to the picture. But that is beside the point.
    The point I am wanting to make is that YOU are gorgeous.
    After so long of being force-fed the cult of thin, to see someone so stunningly beautiful in a size that is not so far off mine (I am more of a juicy pear, however, in a comfortable NZ size 16-18, maybe even in the 14’s or 20’s depending on the store. Just big enough to get lovely evil glares from shop attendants when I *dare* enter their thinspo-only zones), and to see how you put together clothes to show off your gorgeous self is inspiring and a beautiful revelation to me.
    I have had a long travel to get where I am in my road to true self-acceptance (with a whole lot of baggage to deal with on the way), and your blog is exactly what I needed to be seeing right now.

    Keep up the great work.

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I’m so glad that you have managed to get past all the things that could so easily bog people down forever, and realize your own awesomeness and get comfortable with yourself. And I’m honored to play a part in those realizations! Thanks for reading ❤

      • It will take time, but accepting myself is something that is getting easier and not so alien over time. I can even take a compliment now, even if I am somewhat awkward with it sometimes. 🙂
        I just love your sense of style, your love of colour, and how gorgeous you look and clearly feel in even the most casual outfit.
        You also inspired me to buy a gorgeous and cheap teal cotton pullover. I am now in love with it. Seriously. I adore colour as well, but was always wary of rocking it in case I looked like a clown. My child is also becoming excited about the prospect of “less black in Mum’s wardrobe”, lol!
        I’ll be visiting often to be inspired even more. 🙂

        • It’s always a process, I know.
          Thank you so much! I’m glad you’re adding more color to your wardrobe, for me at least I feel like it made a huge difference–wearing all black was, for me, just trying to hide. I’m sure you’re rocking the bright colors!

Leave a comment