Marvelous Monday: Breaking All The Rules

It’s Marvelous Monday, everybody! This is a weekly blog challenge between myself and four other fabulous fatshion bloggers. Make sure to go check out their outfits today, too! Links are at the bottom of the post.

Our philosophy: Monday is nobody’s favorite day of the week, but maybe its terrible reputation is a little undeserved. We’re on a mission to make ours (and hopefully yours) a little less awful by dressing marvelously!

This week’s theme: Breaking A Fashion “Rule”

P1150818

Now you know why Friday’s outfit would have fit, too! It seems that one of the cardinal rules of fat fashion is that we always need to pretend to have an hourglass figure. Emphasize your waist! That’s what it’s all about, apparently. Extraneous belts abound. Not that I’ve never enjoyed a waist-emphasizing outfit myself, but it’s totally unnecessary to always dress that way. And today, I’m not showing off a pretend hourglass figure at all!

P1150807

I also haven’t shaved my legs in over a week (not that you can tell in the photo), and my bra strap is peeking out in a couple of these photos. These are definitely fashion rules I’m breaking. But who cares! I look awesome, and I feel awesome. Especially because I woke up today, and it was magically spring. I’ve been freezing since September, with only a 3-day reprieve in early March, but now, it’s warm and sunny and beautiful outside. The flower are blooming! The birds are singing! What’s not to love? Why get hung up on silly fashion “rules” when all that’s going on outside?

P1150813

I’m also breaking what so many of my fellow fatties see as a rule, by showing off my upper arms. A message, to my fellow fatshionistas: letting the sun and the fresh air touch as much of you as possible is a wonderful feeling! Try it out sometime!

P1150817

 

For some reason, a lot of people are wearing coats outside. It’s 70 degrees. It’s very unnecessary. I think that Germans like to dress for the worst possible scenario, i.e., it might get cold later, so I’d better wear a coat. Personally, I think it’s nuts. I’m off to enjoy the sunshine now!

Outfit details:

Colorblock Navy/Green Swing Dress: The Webster at Target (USA)
Pearl pendant necklace: Dorothy Perkins (UK)
Navy bow flats: Shoe Dept. Encore (USA)

Check out the other beautiful Marvelous Monday bloggers, breaking their fashion rules today:

Sian: http://sortlifeoutbuymilk.blogspot.co.uk
Cheri: http://cherizangelandstyleluvin.blogspot.com
L.: http://byehollywood.blogspot.com
Sarah: http://theridiculous-sort.blogspot.co.uk/

 

 

16 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday: Breaking All The Rules

  1. I always have a real problem getting my arms out. Sometimes I think we need to remember that the world will not collapse if we aren’t covered up under a shrug or a cardigan. I need to remember this anyway!

  2. Love this dress! You look awesome. That necklace is absoluetly gorgeous too. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking recently about blogger pictures and how if a bra strap is on show or hair out of place that people will somehow judge you for that. Maybe I spend too much time looking at lookbook.nu or professional fashion blogs, but sometimes I think my pictures aren’t “perfect” enough. Which is rididculous, I blog for fun, for myself and other fat people, plus I’m not perfect, my hair is out of place more than its in, I smile oddly and sometimes move when pictures are being taken. Hmmmm, sorry to leave this odd splodge of musings on your blog. I’ll blame my fever. 😛

    • Thank you!

      I’ve thought about that as well, a lot of my pictures are far from perfect–my makeup isn’t always spot on, my hair is frequently a mess (see: today’s frizz), sometimes my clothes are wrinkled or not lying perfectly straight. But I think that’s okay! We’re not professional fashion bloggers, we’re awesome people trying to share a little bit of the awesome and meet other members of our tribe 🙂

      Hope you’re feeling better soon ❤

  3. I love this dress! The colors look fab on you, and that necklace is making me jealous. I loved the sentiment behind this challenge!

  4. I love that dress! It just looks so floaty and comfortable, and still somehow magically put-together.
    I wish the weather was that nice here today! It’s just a lot (a LOT) of surprisingly cold wind. The weather needs to calm down, man.

  5. Cute dress. I don’t see anything wrong with showing upper arm! You look awesome anyways. It always irritates me when I hear or read people saying fat people shouldn’t wear (fill in the blank), seriously if you are not comfortable wearing it then don’t, but don’t push it on others who feel fine in their own skin.

Leave a Reply

