Marvelous Monday: Metallics

For those not in the know, Marvelous Monday is a weekly blog challenge between myself and four other fabulous fatshion bloggers. Make sure to go check out their outfits today, too! Links are at the bottom of the post.

Our philosophy: Monday is nobody’s favorite day of the week, but maybe its terrible reputation is a little undeserved. We’re on a mission to make ours (and hopefully yours) a little less awful by dressing marvelously!

This week’s theme: Metallics.

P1150956

I decided to wear these metallic gold jeans (they’re shinier in real life than in the photo), paired with this black blouse. It’s a really strange wrap type blouse, with a shawl collar; a quite unusual item. I haven’t really been sure how to wear it.

P1150960

Should I have tucked it into something? Did I pull it off here? Should I just give up on this particular piece all together?

P1150962

Also wasn’t really sure about the jeans…they’re a bit big for me, particularly in the calf, both length and width wise, so I rolled up the cuffs. I think the contrast is nice as the black matches my blouse, but I’m not entirely sure.

P1150949

 

What do you all think?

Outfit details:

Black shawl collar blouse: ASOS Curve
Gold jeans: H&M+ via Hanna‘s blog sale
Burgundy wedges: Mossimo via Target

Check out the other beautiful Marvelous Monday bloggers in their metallics today:

Sian: http://sortlifeoutbuymilk.blogspot.co.uk
Cheri: http://cherizangelandstyleluvin.blogspot.com
L.: http://byehollywood.blogspot.com
Sarah: http://theridiculous-sort.blogspot.co.uk/

31 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday: Metallics

  1. Love those jeans so much! I really like the cuffs rolled up, I think it ties teh outfit together nicely. Glad someone had a fully metallic item of clothing, I wish I did! I really like that top too, you’re right its avery unique piece. I like it with the skinny jeans, but it’d be cute with a tube or maxi skirt too.

    And jeans not fitting my legs is the bane of my life, if they fit my stomach they will swamp my legs. Boo.

  2. I really like the contrast between the cuffs and the rest of the jeans. Very clever.
    Now I’m sad cause I don’t have shiny clothes, but I’m okay knowing at at least you do!

  3. I often have problems with buying jeans as I have chunky thighs and smaller waist, so to accommodate I have to buy bigger size and alter the waistline.. maybe you can do the same with your jeans 🙂 for more flattering effect. Love the color and texture of it!

    GREETINGS FROM DUBAI
    MRS JACK OF ALL TRADES (a fashion and life-style blog)
    http://mrsjackofalltradesdaily.blogspot.ae/

  4. Its funny when you sometimes end up with an item that doesnt seem to make sense. I think it looks great the way you have it though. I could imagine it tucked in with a full skirt too. Take it for a spin and see what you can do I say. Jeans fab. And I like the rolled up contrast. Thanks for sharing!!

  5. Hello! I found your blog tonight through Fatshionista! livejournal and I am LOVING your outfits. These gold jeans are fabulous — so sophisticated and supremely stylish with the black blouse!

  6. I am glad I came across your blog. You have great style- the outfits you put together are awesome. I wanted to comment that I think your hair is SOOO pretty when you wear it down. I would LOVE to see a blog post that details how you style it and what products you use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

