Marvelous Monday: Sheer Tops

It’s Marvelous Monday, everybody! This is a weekly blog challenge between myself and four other fabulous fatshion bloggers. Make sure to go check out their outfits today, too! Links are at the bottom of the post.

Our philosophy: Monday is nobody’s favorite day of the week, but maybe its terrible reputation is a little undeserved. We’re on a mission to make ours (and hopefully yours) a little less awful by dressing marvelously!

This week’s theme: Sheer tops.

P1150926

I didn’t feel like it would have been appropriate for me to wear my sheer top with just a bra to my Qualitative Research class, so this outfit isn’t as daring as the theme would allow it to be. The top is Old Navy from at least a year ago, and I wear it fairly regularly so I’m a bit surprised it hasn’t been on the blog before. It’s got a banded waist, which I don’t usually like, but I’ve worn it in the summer with denim shorts and I like the contrast of the super casual shorts with a top like this.

P1150930

I also like to wear it tucked in, as you can see here; always the best solution for banded bottom tops. I like this skirt as well, and it goes to show you should try things on; it’s from Dorothy Perkins, and it’s a UK18, while I usually wear a UK22. I got it from fatshionxchange, though, and the seller said it fit up to my waist size, and voila, it works!

P1150927

My hair’s kind of a mess; I usually don’t have time to do anything with it when I have early classes, so whenever you see my hair looking nice, that probably means I came home and fixed it before taking pictures. No time, today, though, I have a meeting in 20 minutes! Same concept for makeup; it’s pretty basic in these photos.

P1150925

The next few weeks are going to be insanely busy for me. Lots of work to do. I’ll be leaving at the end of May, though, for Berlin, then London, then New York, and finally, home to North Carolina from mid-June to mid-August. Can’t wait to be back in the States for a couple of months! I’m already counting the days.

P1150932 

Outfit details:

Sheer pussybow blouse: Old Navy
Ochre circle skirt: Dorothy Perkins via Fatshionxchange
Black tank (underneath): ASOS Curve
Gold bracelets: Primark
Gold pearl earrings: Dorothy Perkins
Brown tights: Worthington via JCPenney
Brown flats: Payless

Check out the other beautiful Marvelous Monday bloggers in their sheer tops today:

Sian: http://sortlifeoutbuymilk.blogspot.co.uk
Cheri: http://cherizangelandstyleluvin.blogspot.com
L.: http://byehollywood.blogspot.com
Sarah: http://theridiculous-sort.blogspot.co.uk/

18 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday: Sheer Tops

  1. I love the colour of that skirt! The whole thing is fantastic, but I’ve really just fallen for the skirt.
    I think we all went pretty sedate this week, which is a bit funny, considering.

  2. Not usually a fan of pussybow tops, but this one is so lovely! The colour is lovely and I’m weirdly enamoured with the fact you paired this with brown tights instead of black. Fab, fab, fab.

    I think Cheri is right we all went suprisingly conservative this week despite the theme, but sometimes it hard to push fashion boundaries when you still have to go out & buy milk, go to class or be around your family. Haha.

Leave a Reply

