Marvelous Monday: Something You Have Trouble Styling

It’s Marvelous Monday, everybody! This is a weekly blog challenge between myself and four other fabulous fatshion bloggers. Make sure to go check out their outfits today, too! Links are at the bottom of the post.

Our philosophy: Monday is nobody’s favorite day of the week, but maybe its terrible reputation is a little undeserved. We’re on a mission to make ours (and hopefully yours) a little less awful by dressing marvelously!

This week’s theme: Something you have trouble styling.

P1150736

I got this shirt a few weeks ago, and hadn’t worn it until today. I like the spring colors, and the sequin embellishments on the shoulders quite a bit. The textured stripe down the front is also interesting. It’s got a banded bottom, though, which doesn’t really seem to suit me, and I was never sure how to style it. Today, though, I looked at it and thought, “tuck it in! Duh!” And so I did, into my trusty ASOS skater skirt.

P1150731

Does wearing the same shoes all the time make me a bad fashion blogger?? Probably. But I have such a hard time finding cute, comfortable shoes, that when I do, I tend to wear them constantly until they fall apart!

P1150730

So what do you think? How did I do styling this top?

Outfit details:

Top: Betty Jackson.Black from Debenham’s via eBay (UK)
Skirt & belt: ASOS Curve
Tights: Kmart
Shoes: Kmart

 

Marvelous Monday bloggers:

Sian: http://sortlifeoutbuymilk.blogspot.co.uk
Cheri: http://cherizangelandstyleluvin.blogspot.com
L.: http://byehollywood.blogspot.com
Sarah: http://theridiculous-sort.blogspot.co.uk/

We’re still open to adding new participants as well, so get in touch (fatfashionablefeminist@gmail.com) if you’re interested!

 

13 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday: Something You Have Trouble Styling

  1. Ha, we both had problems with tops until we realised we could tuck them in! Haha.

    I do think that top is stunning! The mix of colours, sequins and texture is really lovely and quite unique, shame about the fitted band, something I cannot abide in tops, but at least you can wear it tucked in. 🙂

    I’m a terrible fashion blogger, I only ever wear creepers, but they’re so comfy!

  2. I love it. That shirt is super cute, kind of reminds me of a Navajo print. I really dislike banded bottom shirts, and generally do not buy them unless it’s a band that I can remove and still have the shirt looking right. I wore a banded bottom one today too, but I just tucked the band up.

    • Thanks! Yeah, I can’t sew or I’d probably take the band off of this one. They are generally not a good look, although I did have one banded top that looked nice…but that’s one of many, many terrible ones.

  3. Oh my gosh, I love this! I have the same issue with banded bottom tops, drives me crazy. And your hair is looking extra fabulous here, too!

    • Thanks! 🙂 Does anyone love these things?? I can’t imagine why they would! Also, thank you for the hair comment, I am trying to be less of a lazy bum when it comes to actually doing my hair instead of defaulting to the messy bun, haha.

  4. I love it! I think that tucking it in was incredibly clever. And I’m so okay with the boots showing up all the time, they’re obviously perfect.

  5. I LOVE that skirt!!!
    If you don’t mind can you please tell what size it is in?
    We have very similar body types and I have never ordered from ASOS.
    I seriously love this outfit 🙂

Leave a Reply

