Happy 2013!

2013 is here at last! January means I can start re-reading the Animorphs series again (childhood favorites never get old!), but on a bigger scale, the new year means a lot of things….two of the big ones, of course, are reflections and resolutions. I’m not going to do anything quite so structured, but I would like to post a few thoughts on what I did in 2012 and what I hope to accomplish in 2013.

This is going to be text-heavy and not illustrated, so if you’re just here for the pretty pictures, come back in a day or two!

School:

This year, I made the huge change of going back to school. I’m glad I did it, but even more, I can’t wait to finally be done with it! I’m hoping to be able to graduate in December 2013. It’s definitely going to be a challenge to get all that done with, but I think it’s possible! Wish me luck, I’ll need it.

Reading:

In 2012, I wanted to read at least 50 non-fiction books. The final total was more like 14, but I did do a lot of non-fiction reading related to my classes; just not whole books straight through that I can add to that list. I ended up reading a total of 189 books, including lots of young adult fiction even though I’m kind of aging out if it, dystopian books (lots of those are YA, too), and re-reading a lot of old favorites, too. My favorite new to me books of 2012 were “Mexican Enough” by Stephanie Elizondo Griest, “The Geography Of Bliss” by Eric Weiner, “Shut Up, I’m Talking (And Other Diplomacy Lessons Learned In The Israeli Government)” by Gregory Levey, and “Every Day” by David Levithan. Which really means I should read more non-fiction, I guess, because 3 of my 4 favorites are non-fiction! But they’re kind of slow going, and I really enjoy the experience of reading the easy, fun books that pass the time quickly; it’s just that, a year later, most of those don’t really stand out much. In 2013, I will keep track of the books I read again (I’m at 1 already!), but I won’t really make any specific goals. If you care what I’m reading, I keep a list here.

Travel:

For the first half of 2012, I worked at the same job I did for the second half of 2010 and all of 2011. That means I traveled through a lot of US states for work. Then, I went back to school in Germany, where I did a little bit of exploring around the region (Hamburg, Norddeich, and the Harz mountains geology excursion were the highlights). Additionally, I took 3 major trips this year: A weeklong Caribbean cruise with my family in June, a cross-country train trip with a friend in July, and a weeklong trip to visit friends in England during my reading days in October. I spent time in 7 different countries/territories (USA, Germany, Bahamas, St Thomas, St Martin, St Maarten, England), and countless US states (20 or so, I think). In 2013, I already have some travelling planned. Before I go back to Germany at the end of the month, I’ll pass through Canada, Iceland, and England (and I’ll probably go to England at least once more during the year). There’s a potential trip to Belgium in February, though I’m not sure it’ll happen. I plan to apply for a summer job that would let me explore some different parts of Germany. I’m also going to spend a few days in Barcelona in the fall with my grandparents, as they are going to Barcelona to leave on a long cruise, all the way across the ocean to Rio de Janeiro, and it’s a lot easier for me to visit them there than come all the way back home! I also hope to take advantage of my location in Germany a lot more, particularly as it warms up this spring, with some day trips to nearby cities as well as just getting to know Bremen a bit better.

Blogging:

I started a new blog less than a month ago, so there’s not much to reflect on for 2012, but I definitely hope to continue with it in 2013! I also hope to have time to write more about the political side of things, instead of only posting outfits. And maybe make some new blogging friends, too 🙂

Personal goals:

For things that don’t really fit into any category, I want to try to get back into photography a little, to figure out at least the general direction I want my life to go in when I finish school, to make new friends & strengthen the friendships I’ve already made at school, and to keep in touch with the people that are important to me even though they are scattered around the world.

Happy New Year, everyone! 

Leave a Reply

